Defending champions Spain are among the European teams to play in the Women’s FIFA U-17 world cup in India

By: PTI |

Posted: August 14, 2020 7:24:50 pm

The U-17 World Cup will be played in February-March 2021. (File photo/FIFA)

The champions of Spain, Germany and the united kingdom were on Friday named for the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup to be held in India next year, on the basis of their ranking after the European qualification tournament was cancelled due to COVID-19 pandemic.

The Local organising committee (LOC) said in a media statement, the European governing body, UEFA, has confirmed that the united kingdom, Germany, and Spain, and will represent Europe in the upcoming FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in India in 2021″.

The three countries have been selected following the UEFA U-17 Women’s Championship was cancelled due to the pandemic.

“In the last round of the UEFA U-17 Women’s Championship has been cancelled due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. The three teams with the highest coefficient ranking, and have been confirmed as participants in the World Cup,” the statement said.

Spain, Germany and the united kingdom will be a member of hosts, India, North Korea, Japan, and New Zealand, who have already qualified for the tournament.

Spain had won the 2018 edition of the tournament, after beating Mexico 2-1 in the final to Uruguay.

The tournament was originated in October and November of this year, but pushed out to 2021 (from 17 February to 7 March), the COVID-19 pandemic. The final match will be played at the DY Patil stadium in Navi Mumbai.

📣 The Indian Express, which is now on Telegram. Click here we are in the channel (@indianexpress) and to keep up to date with all the latest news

For all the latest News and download The Indian Express App.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here